Nobel Prize winners From India

Nobel Prize Winners In Non-Science Category From India”

Nobel Prize is given on the memory of Alfred Nobel who has invented dynamite, This prize is awarded to those who have contributed to the welfare of mankind.

It was first awarded in 1901, at that time it was given in 5 fields but in 1968 a new subject is added “Economic Science” it was not considered as ‘Nobel Prize’ but ‘Nobel Memorial Prize’.

Nobel Prize is given in these fields:-

SubjectPresented by
1. PhysicsRoyal Swedish Academy of Science ( Sweden)
2. PeaceNorwegian Nobel Committee (Norway)
3. ChemistryRoyal Swedish Academy of Science (Sweden)
4. Physiology and MedicineNobel Assembly at the Karolinska Institute (Sweden)
5. EconomicsSveriges Risksbank (Sweden)
6. LiteratureThe Swedish Academy (Sweden)

The list of winners:

1. Rabindranath Tagore

He was the first Indian who get a Nobel prize award in 1913, in the field of literature, For his great work in expressing his thought in his amazing poetic way in his book “Gitanjali”.

The great author of the book gitanjali

2. Mother Teresa

She is the first woman who get Nobel Peace Prize in 1979, for serving people meaninglessly and dedicated her life for serving others.

Mother Teresa who dedicated her life for serving others

3. Sir Vidiadhar Surajprasad Naipaul

He was awarded in 2001 in the field of literature “for having united perceptive narrative and incorruptible scrutiny in works that compel us to see the presence of suppressed histories.”

Sri Vidiadhar Surajprasad Naipaul his extera ordinary work in literature

3. Kailash Satyarthi

He was awarded Peace Prize in 2014 ” for fighting for the right of young people and children against their struggle and for the right of the children to get proper education.

Anti child slavery activist Kailash Satyarthi


So these are the Incredible people from India who Made us feel proud by there contribution in different fields for the welfare of mankind across the world. This award is the highest award across the world, This prize is given every year to the people who worked for the mankind, Each winner get a gold medal.

Sometimes, this prize is awarded to more than three people at a time but the prize is not shared among more than three people like if more than 3 people win in any category they are considered as winners but the prize is only to three persons. Also this award is not given after death, which means a person only get this prize when he/she is alive because after death they are not eligible for their nomination.

The Nobel Committee were regretted when Mahatma Gandhi died without getting peace prize in 1948. There is a famous statemen that “Gandhi could do without the Nobel Peace prize, Whether Nobel Committee can do without Gandhi is a question”.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments